Welcome to the family heir

loom.

Not just diamonds, antiques, clothes, handbags, necklace

but

I present to you

this

gorgeous

IMG_0009

.

.

book.

The newest collection to our family heirloom.

(well, it will be)

I was super excited when I passed this recipe book at Selfridges on Boxing Day. Even happier when I got it 30% off! This cute book by Kate Spade New York cost me £20. I took a good 15 minutes stroll around the stationary corner just to see if anything else was on better offer. I even put this down twice having to decide whether or not to get it. Eventually, I did. And I couldn’t shut up about it. I kept telling Joss, “omg this is going to be our new heirloom!” “I’m so excited this is so exciting!” “Ah, I can’t wait” “What do you want to have in?” “What recipes should we do?” Blank stares. He gave me blank stares. how rude!

Look how beautiful this is inside. So class!

I haven’t written anything in it. I’m such a perfectionist! ish. I need the perfect black ink pen to write in this so nothing smudges or streaks. I need our favourite dishes for entries, favourite desserts, and milkshakes. All these huge bits of this tiny book. Joss and I haven’t been together long enough to know what our favourite dishes are, other than our favourite places to eat -food I can’t cook. ever. So we have lunch there once in a while. We have a fair few favourites and the usuals.

Top 5 favourites to enclose:

  1. Korean-style Fried Chicken with Seaweed Fries a.k.a Four Fingers when you can’t Singapore.
  2. Butter Milk Chicken
  3. Creamy Spinach Mushroom Lasagna
  4. Red Velvet Cupcake, inspired by the Hummingbird Bakery
  5. Classic Fudged Brownies

I can’t wait for the day when we settle down and be more adventurous with our meals. We’re so comfortable with our favourites that we don’t often go to different places to eat! Maybe one day. When we can afford take outs every meal. But then again, even if we could, I wouldn’t so much. I loove cooking! I love learning to cook new things. I see a lot of peoples’ post on Instagram going out to eat, meals after meals, day after day. I can’t. I hope I won’t be taken to that dark side. I enjoy so much cooking meals for my family (ok ever only twice! mom insist she cooks and grandma always invites us over! Also my dad don’t eat what I eat -so kampung!) But I’d love to cook for my guests, family, friends, and my husband, one day. I think there’s that special feel to it, like a gift. A rezeki. Blessing comes in many ways, and one of them is the meal you bring to your table, just like the meal you cook for your family and friends.

P.S. Dear husband-to-be, please get me a help for our kitchen, a.k.a assistant chef.

Thank you.

1 thought on “Welcome to the family heir”

Leave a Reply

