Deserving decisions.

“Have you decided what bag you want?” -Dad

Know that he is very conservative so this question is for an up coming graduation gift

Yes father, thanks for asking. I had this list since I was like fourteen.

Chanel Classic Flap Lambskin in black with SHW, £3990

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 16.15.59

(photo credit)

Ah, the Chanel Classics. I’ve been eyeing them since I saw Marissa Cooper carrying a red version on the OC. I think it is safe to say that she is to blame for my love of Chanel handbags. Each episode, from time to time, one Chanel to another, I fell in love with the elegance, classic and just plain beauty these CC bags has to offer -or atleast what Marissa Cooper had on. Of course I was only fourteen at the time, thirteen maybe, and didn’t have a clue of its prices -despite how obviously wealthy Marissa’s family is. Thing is, I wasn’t into branding, or loved the name Chanel, or the brand Chanel itself. God knows I didn’t even know they called it that til Julie Cooper said the name. I just love how gorgeous it is. Well the ones Marissa had at least. Simple, yet elegant. (So, me!)

Céline Nano Luggage Tote in black, £1750

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 15.56.02

(photo: tumblr.com)

Not. even. going. to. lie. I was never the biggest fan of the Minis or Micros. But this. This caught my eyes while flipping through a magazine and seeing a photo of Kendall Jenner holding this. The mini tote. Its so chic! Need I say more? 

Saint Laurent Monogram Grain Leather Satchel, £1280

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 16.29.37

(photo credit)

Ever since Mom came home with the clutch version in maroon back in 2013, I was hooked. That was it. I wanted them in each and every colour. I’ve seen them in gold, royal blue, silver, red, and then in black. Ugh, my love (and obsession) for classics in black (as you can see in this potential graduation gift list LOL). I came across the clutch in black last Summer but thank goodness I didn’t get it (actually, no financial means for it but still) else I would’ve regretted it! because they have this. with chains. I saw them in London last month and I couldn’t resist. I felt like my bank account was already chaining itself so I wouldn’t be able to buy them. It did. Because I couldn’t. “You’re still a student. No. Don’t.” I tell myself. So here it is, on this wishlist.

Louis Vuitton Cluny BB in Dune, £1660
Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 19.51.22

(Photo: louisvuitton.com)

I’ve been wanting a Louis Vuitton handbag since my first pay check five years ago. So one holiday, my mom brought me to the Louis Vuitton boutique in Singapore. We spent about an hour in the store but nothing excited me. Perhaps it was the colour of the bags that season had on display. I knew I wanted a classic piece. I knew I wanted a Speedy, but in what -monogram, damier, azur? I also know I wanted a Neverfull -MM, GM, PM? in damier, epi, monogram? don’t know. But I never got either of those classics. I haven’t found the perfect bag, yet. But then this. in Dune. I wanted something different. Elegant, but different. Something that I didn’t already have. So this.

Balenciaga Classic Mini City, £845

(photo: balenciaga.com)

I don’t even know why this is on my list. I mean, I’ve wanted one. ages ago, and I still do. But I don’t want it enough. Just the thought of having another classic mini bag for when I am out-about in London, is nice. Face it, I’m bored of my Vara -despite how much I love it! Its the only convenient bag I brought with me this year. A little change wouldn’t hurt. I actually wanted this in the Giant Part-Time so we’ll see. I just can’t help but adore the mini cities.

So here it is. What bags I want. Sorry for adding an ‘s’ in the end, dad!

Despite knowing what I want, I am yet to know which bag I deserve. Which is exactly what I told my dad. If you ask me what bag I want, I’ll in that minute give you a list of ten other bags costing between $1,500 to $9,000. each. But I wouldn’t know which I deserved. Knowing what I want is one thing, but knowing what I deserve is another. The bag I deserve depends solely on the grades of my Degree. I know well the value of a dollar and the value of each grade to know that with a 3rd class or a 2:2, I shouldn’t even be thinking of the Flap Bag! I’ve always earned everything I’ve got, and no way will I ever feel proud of receiving £2500 graduation gift to celebrate a 2:2 or worst, lower. No. My Degree already isn’t free. As an international student here in England, its costing me at least £50,000 for the three-years course. A £3,900 bag cannot justify a 2:2 or a 3rd. No matter how badly I’ve been longing them it. I think its important that we do not take the gifts we receive no matter how little, how small, how big they are -for granted.

So which of these bags do I deserve? I don’t know. Not yet. but I will in four months time. I’ll let you know which bag I want when I know which bag I deserve, dad.

P.s. I also have a back up for the “undeserved” handbags with a minimum cost of $300. Just incase.

Til next thought, stay tuned!

n bela

Leave a Reply

